Skip to main content

Welcome to Your Library: Getting to Full Text Articles

Library Navigation

The Articles Wonderland

You know how to search for articles and you see a few you want to read on your list of results, but you wonder, "how do I actually get to the full articles?"

There are many different paths.  First, look for these road signs:

Full Text Online - indicates the full article is available to you via an MRU licensed database or open access

Physical Copy - indicates the journal is available in print format in the Library"s Periodicals Collection

Citation Online - indicates MRU Library does not have licensed access to the full article; if you want to pursue, you can request it via our inter-library loan service

Full Text Online

So you see a Full Text Online link and you click on it; what happens?

Usually, one of the following:

  1. It takes you directly to the article
  2. It takes you to a page with link(s) to the article
  3. It takes you to a page with link(s) to the journal

Full Text Online - Direct Article Access

Here's a search result with a Full Text Online link:

Image of search result

Clicking on the link in this case takes you directly to the article as shown below:

Image of full article

Full Text Online - Access via Article Links

Here's another search result with a Full Text Online link:

Image of another search result

Clicking on the link this time takes you to a page with options to access the article via several MRU licensed databases, as shown below:

Image showing MRU access options for article

Make sure you check the date of your article and confirm the issue is included before you click on an Article link.

In this case, any of the 4 links will work since they all cover the date your article was published.  Here's what you will see if you click on the one that corresponds to CINAHL Plus with Full Text.  Notice the PDF link at the top left corner.

Image of article with PDF full text link

Full Text Online - Access via Journal Link

Here's a third search result with a Full Text Online link:

Image of another search result

Getting to the full text this time will require more steps.  Notice that when you click on the Full Text Online link, you will be taken to a page with a link to the journal level only.  This often happens with open access articles.

Image showing access to article via a link to the journal

The next logical step is to click on the Journal link, which will take you to the webpage for Bioscience Education:

Image showing webpage for journal called Bioscience Education

At this point, we need to find the particular article we're interested in.  We can do that by:

  1. using the search box on the top right - just type in the article title
  2. browsing for the particular issue (in this case, by clicking the arrow at the top left once to go back to Vol. 19)

Either way, you will find the entry to the article, as shown below:

Image of article entry

Physical Copy

We should not forget about print journals, as some of MRU articles are available in this format.  Here's an example:

Image of search result showing article is available in print

As we're expecting a Physical Copy, we cannot click to connect to it; click on the article title instead which will bring up this page:

Image with link to more info about the print journal

Follow the Journal link now and you will get the Call Number and Location for this journal in the Library:

Image showing location and call number of print journal

Citation Online

Here's a search result with a Citation Online link:

Image of search result

When you see this link, it usually means that only information about the article is available.  Still, we want to click through to confirm.  In this case, this is what we see:

Image with more info about the article

Notice the Available in Print link?  Don't get excited yet, as this is what you get when you follow that link:

Image showing MRU does not have article with link to interlibrary loan service

So, basically it confirms for you that MRU does not have licensed access to the full article, but you can request a copy via our interlibrary loan service.  Follow that link if you'd like to pursue, or you can go back to your search results to find other relevant articles.

Article Searching Tips

Finding too much?

  • Use AND between ideas to search for BOTH terms
  • Put “Quotation Marks Around Your Search" to search for exact phrases

Finding too little?

  • Use OR between your ideas to search for EITHER term
  • Put * after the root of a word to look for multiple endings

For better searching, think of multiple ways to describe your topic

Library Guides Content by Mount Royal University Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License Creative Commons License