Canadian documents from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th century. Includes EARLY GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS, periodicals/magazines, religious publications, explorer accounts, literature 1697-1900, local history, health and medicine, Hudson's Bay Company collections, the Jesuit Relations missionary reports, Native Studies international publications 1558-1900, and women's history 1677-1900.
A collection of primary source documents and sources focusing on the British Empire. These documents and secondary sources relate the story of the Empire from the French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German points of view, as well as that of indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America.
For primary sources, search the Archives. To search only those items that are available digitally, go to the 'Online' dropdown menu and choose 'YES.' Documents include military heritage, vital statistics, census records, immigration and citizenship, and aboriginal history to name a few. LOOK AT THE ONLINE RESEARCH TAB for detailed help with searching these collections.
Provides access to digital collections of Canada's libraries, museums and archives including: books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio and video files about the nation's heritage.
Canadian primary source documents spanning the 1600s to the 1900s. Includes Aboriginal records, government records, military and war documents, papers of prominent Canadians, and genealogy sources, among others. "Browse all collections" for fuller descriptions.
Digitised War Diaries of the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) units. The War Diaries are not personal diaries, rather they are a historical record of a unit’s administration, operations and activities during the First World War.
Full-page archive of the Globe and Mail newspaper dating back to the pre-Confederation era. Note that you can search for terms in specific parts of the paper - front page articles, editorials, editorial cartoons, display ads, etc. You can also limit searches to specific dates/date ranges.
Library & Archives of Canada collection of federal government records in all formats. Includes Orders-in-Council, the Canada Gazette (proclamations, statutes, regulations, treaties, official notices, advertisements etc.), private archives and colonial records, Royal Commissions reports, and more.
Previously, most of the papers ordered to be printed for House of Commons and the Senate were collected and published in the Sessional Papers. This series holds a wealth of primary source material from Canada's early years. Included are reports of departments, commissions and business institutions, statistics, foreign affairs documents, maps and other documents of historical significance.
A collection of Albertan historical resources, including provincial and municipal laws and other legal documents, local histories, historical newspapers, image collections, Canadian medical heritage, and more.
Extensive collection of Canadian Indian treaties, land surrenders, and related agreements, spanning from 1680 to 1956. These are digital copies of the original treaty documents (not transcribed/typewritten).
4825 Mount Royal Gate SW
Calgary, AB T3E 6K6